Extracted from mature coconut meat, coconut milk has a thick consistency and a rather creamy texture. This white liquid tastes sweet and offers a number of health benefits too. While it certainly is gaining popularity, many people still have questions about how safe it really is. They also ask, "Is coconut milk dairy free?" and "Can you drink it often?" Let's find out more about it.
Is Coconut Milk Dairy Free?
Though it is called milk, coconut milk is actually not the same as dairy milk. In fact, it is nothing like your traditional dairy milk. You get a milky substance when you open a fresh coconut – this is actually coconut water but becomes coconut milk when blended with coconut meat and strained.
So coconut milk is dairy free. It does not contain lactose, which is the reason why anyone who cannot drink the regular cow's milk because of lactose intolerance can switch to coconut milk without worrying. Coconut milk does not contain any cholesterol either. The only consideration is that it is rich in fat, which is why you have to consume it in moderation.
Watch the video below to learn more about some of the most impressive benefits of coconut milk.
Is There Any Other Dairy-Free Milk Option?
It is mild in flavor and contains fewer calories. It is one of the best dairy-free alternatives, but it does not provide you with a lot of protein. However, most vitamins and calcium are included during the processing of the milk. Therefore, it is important to check which brand to select – some brands may use lecithin, thickeners, and starches to change its consistency, but be sure to avoid such products.
Interestingly, you can make almond milk at home without having to go through a lot of hassle. You can do it by blending almond butter with filtered water or coconut water.
Is coconut milk dairy free? Yes, it is. Is there a better alternative? Try rice milk! It is another good dairy-free option, but not everyone may like the taste, as it tastes slightly gritty, which is mainly because of the remnants of rice pulp. You may want to try it if you have been looking for an alternative to curb your allergy reactions. It is a mild dairy-free alternative, but it is also rich in sugar, carbs, and calories. Its protein content is not that impressive. Be sure to check the label because many brands include starches and other fillers to increase the shelf life of rice milk. Do not buy anything laden with sugar.
You can make it at home by boiling a cup of brown rice with a teaspoon of cinnamon, 3 cups of water, and a teaspoon of honey. Toss the rice in a blender once cooked and add 4 cups of water. Strain using some cheesecloth and use up to a week.
With its smooth texture and a 'beany' aftertaste, it sure serves as a good alternative to your regular dairy products. Some people may find its taste a bit overpowering, but the good thing is that soymilk is quite similar tradition milk in terms of its nutritional value. It offers a good amount of calcium as well as protein, but it may trigger an allergic reaction in some people. Moreover, there are controversies surrounding the use of soymilk, as experts believe that overconsumption can throw your hormonal system out of balance. It is also important to ensure that the soymilk products you are using do not contain emulsifiers and starches. The best thing is to look for organic, non-GMO brands to avoid any harmful effects of soybeans, which are among the most genetically modified organisms.